SUV towing capacity, and the limit without load-leveling bars

Choose an SUV and a model year in the tool to see its best and weakest rating; below, the hitch limits that cut those figures for most owners.

2026 Chevrolet Tahoe maximum towing capacity

8,400 lb

Reached by5.3L EcoTec3 V8 · 4x2 · 3.23 axle · Max Trailering Package
Lowest rating printed7,600 lb (6.2L EcoTec3 V8 · 4x4 · 3.23 axle)
Configurations in the table12
Source2026 Chevrolet Trailering Guide, p. 41
How this is computed

Compiled by Radif Partners · Sources and method · makers’ towing documents read October 20 to 21, 2026

Among the SUVs covered, the Ford Expedition leads at 9,600 lb, followed by the Chevrolet Tahoe at 8,400 lb; the Jeep Grand Cherokee prints 6,200 lb and the Toyota 4Runner 6,000 lb, the three-row Kia Telluride, Ford Explorer and Toyota Highlander stop at 5,500 lb, 5,000 lb and 5,000 lb, and the compact Toyota RAV4 at 3,500 lb. For the two big SUVs, the full rating holds only with a weight-distributing hitch. Chevrolet limits a Tahoe on a plain weight-carrying hitch to 5,000 lb and 600 lb of tongue weight, and Ford limits the Expedition to 7,000 lb without bars. The second limit is the one families meet: Ford and Chevrolet compute their ratings with a driver and a front passenger only, while a three-row SUV is bought to carry more people, and each extra passenger comes out of the payload the tongue also needs. An SUV towing near its rating with every seat full is often over its payload.

SUV ratings and the bar-free limit

The table gives the best and weakest conventional ratings for the latest model year read, and, where the maker states it, the most you may tow on a weight-carrying hitch, meaning a receiver and ball mount with no spring bars. Above that figure the maker requires a weight-distributing hitch, and on the Tahoe a sway control as well.

SUVs covered, conventional ratings and the limit without weight-distributing bars.
SUVYearBestWeakestWeight-carrying hitch limit
Ford Expedition20269,600 lb6,000 lb7,000 lb / 700 lb tongue
Chevrolet Tahoe20268,400 lb7,600 lb5,000 lb / 600 lb tongue
Jeep Grand Cherokee20276,200 lb6,200 lbnot stated in the maker's sheet
Toyota 4Runner20266,000 lb6,000 lbnot stated in the maker's sheet
Kia Telluride20255,500 lb5,000 lbnot stated in the maker's sheet
Ford Explorer20265,000 lb5,000 lb5,000 lb / 500 lb tongue
Toyota Highlander20265,000 lb3,500 lbnot stated in the maker's sheet
Toyota RAV420263,500 lb1,750 lbnot stated in the maker's sheet

Tahoe and Expedition: the bars are part of the rating

Chevrolet's trailering guide is explicit on page 41: with a weight-carrying hitch the Tahoe may tow 5,000 lb with a 600 lb tongue, and above that tongue weight it needs a weight-distributing hitch and sway control, with the tongue allowed up to 1,250 lb. The 8,400 lb headline, reached by the 5.3L EcoTec3 V8 with the Max Trailering Package, belongs to the second set-up only.

Ford says the same for the Expedition on page 38 of its towing guide: ratings over 7,000 lb require a weight-distributing hitch. The receiver itself is rated 9,600 lb with bars on the standard wheelbase and 9,000 lb on the long Expedition MAX. The spread inside the Expedition is wide for another reason: the 4x4 with the 3.73 axle reaches 9,600 lb, the 4x2 with the 3.31 axle only 6,000 lb. The weight distribution page explains what the bars do and do not change.

Midsize and compact SUVs

The Ford Explorer is rated 5,000 lb for every 2026 configuration, with the receiver rated 5,000 lb and 500 lb of tongue as a weight-carrying hitch. The Jeep Grand Cherokee sheet gives 6,200 lb for two- and four-wheel drive, with the 3.45 axle, and states a payload of up to 1,280 lb; it does not set a separate weight-carrying limit. Kia's newsroom lists the Telluride at 5,000 lb, or 5,500 lb for the X-Pro trims, and states no hitch or brake condition at all, so the owner's manual is the place to look before hitching anything heavy.

Toyota's newsroom sheets are simpler still. The Toyota 4Runner gets one figure per generation, 6,000 lb for every 2026 grade and drive, against 5,000 lb for the 2023 and 2024 V6 (2026 sheet). The Toyota Highlander is rated by engine alone: 5,000 lb with the 2.4-liter turbo, 3,500 lb for the Highlander Hybrid. The compact Toyota RAV4 reaches 3,500 lb only in the all-wheel-drive grades Toyota names, and 1,750 lb otherwise, so the drive line of the window sticker decides. None of the three sheets sets a separate limit for a weight-carrying hitch or prints a GCWR, which leaves the curb weight to GVWR room as the figure to watch; the 4Runner, Highlander and RAV4 pages give it grade by grade.

A full cabin uses up the payload

Chevrolet computes its SUV ratings with a driver and a front passenger at 150 lb each (guide, p. 7), and Ford's notes assume a 150 lb driver and passenger. A three-row SUV with 650 lb of people aboard, an example of four or five passengers, already carries more than those ratings assume. Kia prints no payload, but the GVWR minus the curb weight of the Telluride X-Pro gives 1,395 lb, and that is what the people, the luggage, the hitch and the tongue share. With a 5,500 lb trailer at 10%, the tongue alone takes 550 lb.

Grand Cherokee: payload left with the family aboard

Payload left for the trailer tongue

705 lb

Payload1,280 lb
People, cargo and hitch575 lb
Heaviest trailer at 10% tongue7,050 lb
At 12% tongue5,875 lb
Open the full calculator →

Before hitching the camper

Weigh the loaded trailer, then the loaded SUV, and compare both with the door label rather than the brochure. Check whether your tow set-up crosses the bar-free limit in the table, and whether the maker asks for its tow package for the rating you are relying on. The trailer checker runs the full test for your configuration, and the travel trailer weight page turns a dry weight into a loaded one.

Questions owners ask

Can a Tahoe tow its full rating on a regular ball hitch?

No. Chevrolet limits a Tahoe on a weight-carrying hitch to a 5,000 lb trailer with 600 lb of tongue weight. Above that it requires a weight-distributing hitch with sway control, and only then do the ratings up to 8,400 lb apply, with the tongue allowed up to 1,250 lb. The guide states this on page 41.

Does the Expedition MAX tow as much as the regular Expedition?

Slightly less at the top. Ford's 2026 guide rates the standard-wheelbase 4x4 up to 9,600 lb and the MAX 4x4 at 9,000 lb, and the receivers with bars follow the same split. On two-wheel drive with the 3.31 axle, both drop to the low six-thousands. Check your wheelbase and drive before comparing.

How many passengers can ride in an SUV that is towing?

As many as the payload allows once the tongue weight, the hitch hardware and the luggage are counted. The towing rating assumes only a driver and a front passenger. Add the weights of everyone aboard, the cargo and the tongue, and compare the total with the payload or the occupant and cargo figure on the door placard.

Keep checking

Maker documents and rules behind this page

Compiled by

Independent publisher of towing ratings read in the trailering guides and specification sheets that truck and SUV makers publish each model year

Ratings checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

Every rating on this page is copied from the maker’s towing guide or specification sheet named under it, with the page. The weights printed on your own door labels describe your exact truck and win over any table.

Makers’ towing documents current in 2026, guides last read on